Unblocked

I don’t understand this writer’s block thing. It’s taken me ages to get started on another story, I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve sat down in front of this computer, and nothing has happened. There was plenty going on in my head but I was totally unable to persuade any words to come out of the ends of my fingers and onto the keyboard.

A dear friend gave a me a rather special notebook for Christmas. All the things I hadn’t been able to type onto the computer – the bits of half-baked ideas, possible names for characters, locations – just a lot of odds and ends really – I started to write in there in longhand. Now, my handwriting leaves a lot to be desired frankly, and so the pages of this lovely notebook looked a darn sight nicer when they were empty. BUT, something seems to have clicked into place because the next time I sat down and typed in ‘Chapter One’, I found I was able to keep going a bit longer. I actually started to write something again.

I’m now almost 18,000 words into it, and flowing. Whatever the block was, and whatever shifted it, I don’t know. I’ve never used the notebook brainstorming method before, and it might never work for me again – but there you are, that’s the mystery of writer’s block.

Actually, one of characters now has a red notebook in which she writes copiously.

Mine isn’t red, by the way…

Leave a Reply

